Delhi, also known locally as Dilli, is the capital of India. It is situated in the Greater Punjab region, on the banks of River Yamuna. George V announced in 1911 that the new capital city would be New Delhi which was constructed in the 1920s to the south side of the old city. When India became independent from British rule in 1947, New Delhi was declared its capital and became the government headquarters. Delhi is home to a number of offices of the federal government, like the Parliament of India, as well as

many other national museums, monuments and art galleries. Delhi has strong Mughal and British colonial influences. Three World Heritage Sites of the Red Fort, Qutab Minar and Humayun’s Tomb, are located in Delhi. Other structures worth mention include the India Gate, the Jantar Mantar (an 18th century astronomical observatory), The Rashtrapati Bhavan, The Secretariat and the Lotus Temple. Old Delhi has still remained loyal to the legacies of its rich Mughal past, and here, you can still find some of the palatial residences.


Itineraries that include Delhi
A Journey to the Hermit Kingdom A Rajasthan Sojourn Palaces, Holymen & Wildlife
Monuments, Monasteries & Temples Himachal & the Golden Triangle The Sikh & The Lama

Back to Destinations